A BOOK BUY ITS COVER?

Recently a friend showed off her cover for a new e-book.   It’s not a genre I normally read, but her title really intrigues me.   I expected the cover to depict the title because the potential is definitely there.  In my opinion, it missed.   That got me to thinking about electronic books and their covers.    Since writers, not marketing departments, are now selecting most e-book covers, I wonder whether or not covers still matter in the decision of which books readers buy.

 For example:   This is the original cover for DENIM DETECTIVE. 

Though I did not choose it nor have any real input into its design, I love this cover.   (funny aside–I discovered, two years after the fact, that some website voted this one of the ten worst covers of the year.)   According to sales figures, they were wrong.  Readers liked the cover as much as I do.

This is also a favorite book of mine, btw.  My working title was Daddy, Cowboy, Cop, which kind of says it all.

I had reached Chapter 13 when I discovered I had the wrong character in mind as the killer.   I spent two whole weeks rewriting three chapters,  only to discover two chapters  more into the book, that I still had the wrong character in mind for the killer.  At that point I had to sit down and read the book from the start to see where I fell off track.

  I hate being late to anything for any reason, but I had to get two deadline extensions.  Fortunately, the read through put me on track fast.

DENIM DETECTIVE  is about to be released for Kindle, Nook, etc.  Coming in March, available for pre-order right now:  tinyurl.com/863o8rg

What do you think?  Would either cover tempt you?

How much does a cover figure in your decision to buy an e-book?  (I’m not talking about buying friends’ books or favorite author books as the cover or title isn’t likely as important to you in that decision.)   But when you’re on the hunt for something new to read, are you drawn to some e-books more than others because of the title or cover?

Or both?

Or something else?

This entry was posted in Adrianne's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A BOOK BUY ITS COVER?

  1. Laurie Ryan says:

    First off, I agree with you, not the poll. It’s a great cover. Of course, I’m kind of a “tight jeans, great butt” gal, so it’s understandable that it works for me.

    For ebooks, cover is huge for me. If I’m browsing a publisher site online and don’t know the authors, I’ll read further based, I’d guess, 75% on the cover and 25% on the title. It’s a little different in a brick and mortar store. Mostly, the first thing I get to look at in a row of books is the spine. So the title gets a little more important. But still, if I pull it out and don’t like the cover, I’ll put it back without reading further.

  2. pjharjo says:

    I’m more drawn to a book of any kind by neither the cover OR the title. The subject has to interest me if I’m going to read it. 🙂 I copied and pasted your pie recipe for future enjoyment, btw. 🙂 I do like to try most new and different foods at least once! Congratulations on all your great news here, too!

    Janette

Leave a Reply

